HOT(ish)lanta

a full day driving swept me off my feet and down the road, leaving DC, crossing again through maryland, then virginia and the carolinas. Two tanks of gas, two birthdays and two free chik-fil-a sandwiches later, I waltzed into Georgia and into the arms of two lovely ladies: Alli and Alicia.

We’ve eaten at some tasty brunch spots (Sun in my belly! The flying biscuit!), and every meal I’m convinced that its the best breakfast/brunch I’ve had. Black bean cakes, feta, tomatillo sauce, eggs of perfection, biscuits, creamy grits, yumtown spiced bacon. We wandered the aquarium and alli showed me her new life and her new school (rollins school of public health at emory). We had a little belated bday celebration with tasty appetizers and birthday cake shots with banana bread pudding (on the hooouse). Following that tasty meal was a late, late night of lots of bars and dancing!

To end the weekend, Alli and I went to market and picked up some yummy fruits and snacks for a sunny afternoon picnic in Piedmont park. I can’t believe its February and I’m spending time in  sunny, dry weather and laying in the park! Atlanta has been a good rest-stop–catching up with long lost friends and getting to have a sneak peek into their Atlanta lives (and their CUTE little tuxworth apartment: THANK YOU I LOVE YOU GUYS!!!!), but also a chance to do laundry, clean-up and reorganize the car and get geared up for the southern stretch ahead of me!

The visit to Atlanta ended strong: poking around the galleries at the High Museum of Art, a visit to Martin Luther King Jr’s burial and memorial site, an evening at Sweetwater brewery and tasty, tasty burgers at Flipburger (a restaurant owned by one of the Top Chef contestants) and a day trip to Savannah.

Sorry for the poor elaboration on my visit to atlanta. My time is short–I’m already in New Orleans and about to take off for Houston so I want to be sure to keep up with the posts! Bottom line: Atlanta was totally bangin. And just LOOK at all the photos of all the great things we did!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment